David seeded to win fifth British Open title

David seeded to win fifth British Open title

SH_345Malaysia’s Nicol David is, unsurprisingly, top seed in the draw for the WSA $95k Allam British Open, set for the KC Stadium in Hull next month. With all of the world’s top 33 participating in this, the second WSA World Series event of the year, defending champion David will be facing stiff competition as she aims to win the prestigious title for a fifth time.

The Malaysian world number one and World Champion is seeded to meet old adversary Natalie Grinham in the second round, and New Zealand’s sixth seed Joelle King in the quarter-finals.

In the second quarter British National Champion Alison Waters, seeded four,  meets wildcard Emily Whitlock, the British Junior Open Champion in the first round, with the winner scheduled to meet another four-time champion Rachael Grinham (between them David and Grinham have won the last eight titles) in the second round, before a potential quarter-final against Malaysian seventh seed Low Wee Wern.

The third quarter looks brutal, with current Raneem El Weleily, Jenny Duncalf, Madeline Perry, Camille Serme and Samantha Teran all in the mix along with three qualifiers.

England’s Laura Massaro, who beat David in the semi-finals on her way to winning the recent KL Open, the first World Series even of the year, is seeded two with last year’s runner-up Nour El Sherbini her anticipated quarter-final opponent.


WSA First Round Draw, 21st May:

[1] Nicol David (Mas) v Qualifier
[10] Natalie Grinham (Ned) v Sarah Kippax (Eng)
[6] Joelle King (Nzl) v Qualifier
[13] Annie Au (Hkg) v Aisling Blake (Irl)

[4] Alison Waters (Eng) v [WC] Emily Whitlock (Eng)
[16] Rachael Grinham (Aus) v Qualifier
[7] Low Wee Wern (Mas) v Sarah-Jane Perry (Eng)
[12] Kasey Brown (Aus) v Qualifier

[9] Camille Serme (Fra) v Samantha Teran (Mex)
[8] Jenny Duncalf (Eng) v Qualifier
[11] Madeline Perry (Irl) v Qualiier
[3] Raneem El Weleily (Egy) v Qualifier

[14] Omneya Abdel Kawy (Egy) v Donna Urquhart (Aus)
[5] Nour El Sherbini (Egy) v Qualifier
[15] Dipika Pallikal (Ind) v  Line Hansen (Den)
[2] Laura Massaro (Eng) v Joey Chan (Hkg)